Archive for May 15, 2013

Dude, where’s my Cameraman?

Posted: May 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

It’s been slow fishing for me lately. I have not been able to fish as much as I used-  I have hooked into a few fish that felt big, but they shake the hooks a few seconds after crushing the lure.  Water temps are finally rising into the 50’s and the bite is slowly picking up. May 11th at 9:30 am I finally connected with a solid fish and got him into the net.  The big brown trout gator-rolled in the net tangling line, hooks, and mesh into a slimy mess. I spent more time than I like to trying to get this fish off the hooks and out of the tangled net.  I’m a firm believer in catch and release so I was doing everything I could to get the fish released fast.

I have been fishing with partners in the boat for so long now that I almost forgot I was alone.  I pulled the fish out of the net and then said to myself ” Dude, where’s my Cameraman?  With one hand on the net,  I quickly struggled with the other hand to get the camera dug out of the bag and set up.  After I snapped one quick picture I decided to give the big brown some much needed oxygen, I knew he needed to be released right away because  it took  longer than normal to get the hooks out.  After a minute of reviving the fish he swiftly powered out of my hands,  back down, deep into the green water to eat more rainbow trout .  Once I got my line set back out on a troll and looked at the camera to see a horrible, blurry picture of my best brown so far this year.   Oh well..  I never got the chance to measure or weigh the fat hook-jaw but you can at least see that he wasn’t missing any meals.

Matt fat hookjaw blurry